Homemade Beef Noodle Soup

It’s been awhile since I’ve updated my blog!

I was looking forward to this weekend for no apparent reason.. not like I have a date or something interesting to do on saturday.. I pretty much just wanted to sleep in, but it didn’t work out as planned, cuz I woke up at 8:30.

Anyways! Today wasn’t sunny, more like a cloudy wet weather, so decided to stay home and chill. But it sure gets boring. I was trying to read the book that I bought for this month’s book club (click here if you’re interested), after a chapter I almost fell asleep! The book was quite interesting, but I guess I haven’t got to the exciting part yet. So…let’s cut to the chase!

I decided to make beef noodle soup for my little brother who is coming to Taipei tonight! (And I also gotta clear the fridge before Dragon Boat Festival…it’s a 4 day long weekend and no one would be home to cook).

I didn’t follow any recipe…more or less just followed my own instinct or just remember how my mom used to cook it. So here are the ingredients you need:

  • Beef briskets
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Red carrots
  • Spring onions
  • Aniseed

20140510-192255.jpgFirst, cut all the ingredients above into small chunks. While you are doing that, boil a pot of water for the beef briskets.

20140510-192301.jpgWe need to boil out the impurities from the meat for a clear stock for later. After it boils for about 1 min~ 2 min, pour the hot water out and quickly rinse the meat with fresh cold water, and leave them aside.

20140510-192305.jpgWe then use a frying pan to cook all the other ingredients: Aniseed, spring onions, carrots, onions. After you get the flavors out, then put in the meat and fry the ingredients for awhile. Prepare a clean pot for use.

20140510-161551.jpgAfter everything is half cooked, put them all into the clean pot, add water till it covers all the food and keep on low heat to boil.

20140510-192310.jpgLet it sit for about 30 min, and check to see if the beef briskets are nice and tender. Normally the longer you cook, the softer it gets, depending on what kind of texture you are going for. I then added a spoonful of soy sauce. If you want a lighter soup, I would recommend not adding the soy sauce and just put in some salt for seasoning and ready to serve!

Bon appétit 🙂20140510-192315.jpg

4 thoughts on “Homemade Beef Noodle Soup

Leave a Reply

